Permits

Class C Permits

Arizona Department of Transportation
Maintenance Permits Services 
206 S. 17th Ave.
MD 004R 
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: 602.712.8280 or 8176
Fax: 602.712.3380

Hours of Operation 

Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Closed on state holidays. For more information, please see our Permits FAQ.

Class C Permit Procedures

Applications for Class C Permits may be submitted online using the ADOT ePRO System.  For other submittal options, please contact the Class C Permits Office at 602.712.8280 or 8176.

The average time frame to issue a Class C Permit is 48 hours from the date and time the request is received (excluding evenings, weekends and state holidays). To check if the status of your application, you may login to your ADOT ePRO account or call Class C Permits at 602.712.8280 or 8176.

The Class C Permit fee is $30 for loads no greater than 18 feet in height and width and 80,000 pounds. Loads over 80,000 pounds are $90. Loads greater than 18 feet in height and width, but not over 80,000 pounds, are $40. Loads greater than 18 feet in height and width and 80,000 pounds are $100.

Class C Permits are valid for five working days. Class C Permit extensions over the five working day allowance can only occur due to inclement weather or equipment breakdown situations (see Arizona Administrative Code R17-6-106).

Class C Permits are valid on state and interstate highways only. Transporters must check with local jurisdictions for authorization to travel on roadways that are not under ADOT jurisdiction.

When submitting an application, please include a note in the comment field on the ADOT ePRO payment screen if requesting 3 a.m. or weekend movement for loads up to 16 feet wide and 16 feet high. The entire route must be designated for night movement, weekend movement or both (see Arizona Administrative Code R17-6-405 A and B and 406 A and B).

An engineering analysis fee of $125 per 50-mile increments will be charged for loads that do not meet Arizona Administrative Code R17-6-411, Tables 3.01 through 3.09. Prior to issuance of a permit, all analysis fees may be paid online or sent by check or money order payable to the Arizona Department of Transportation. Engineering analysis fees must be received by the Class C Permits Office prior to engineering analysis being performed. Loads that are over 250,000 lbs, over axle weight or in excess of the posted bridge weights are analyzed by the ADOT Bridge Preservation Services. Engineering analysis may take up to two weeks. Certified weights are required. Failure to provide the correct weights may require a second analysis to be performed by the ADOT Bridge Preservation Services and will incur a new analysis fee.

Once issued, if your Class C Permit requires you to obtain law enforcement escorts, you may use your EZ Pay account to pay for Department of Public Safety (DPS) Escorts. To create an EZ Pay account, contact a Service Arizona Business Coordinator at 602.712.4039, or email. To schedule law enforcement escorts after you have been issued a Class C Permit contact the DPS Escort Scheduler at 602.223.2855.

"Easy" C Mobile Home Permit Procedure

The requirements for an “Easy” C  Mobile Home Permit are similar to those for a regular Class C permit except that the “Easy” C permit does not require a bridge-engineering analysis and is issued only to vehicles that do not exceed all of the following weight and size dimensions:

  • 16 feet wide
  • 16 feet high
  • 120 feet in overall length (vehicle and load combination length)
  • 80,000 pounds combined gross vehicle weight rating
  • Within statutory axle group weight limits

“Easy” C Mobile Home Permits can be requested and issued through ADOT ePRO. "Easy" Class C Mobile Home Permits are only valid on ADOT roadways. Transporters must check with local jurisdictions for permission to travel on roadways that are not under ADOT jurisdiction.

Once issued, if your “Easy” C Mobile Home Permit requires you to obtain law enforcement escorts, you may use your EZ Pay account to pay for Department of Public Safety (DPS) Escorts. To create an EZ Pay account, contact a Service Arizona Business Coordinator at 602.712.4039, or email. To schedule law enforcement escorts after you have been issued an “Easy” C Mobile Home Permit that requires law enforcement escorts contact the DPS Scheduler at 602.223.2855.


From the ADOT Blog

Class C permits help oversize loads travel safely through the state

Nov. 14, 2012

As you can see in the video above, applying for and receiving a Class C permit from ADOT isn't just a formality – it's a critical step that helps ensure safety on the state's roads. Full story ...

Civil RightsTitle VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Pursuant to Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), ADOT does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex or disability. Persons that require a reasonable accommodation based on language or disability should contact ADOT’s Civil Rights Office at 602.712.8946 or at civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Requests should be made as early as possible to ensure the State has an opportunity to address the accommodation.

De acuerdo con el título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 1964 y la Ley de Estadounidenses con Discapacidades (ADA por sus siglas en inglés), el Departamento de Transporte de Arizona (ADOT por sus siglas en inglés) no discrimina por raza, color, nacionalidad, edad, género o discapacidad.  Personas que requieren asistencia (dentro de lo razonable) ya sea por el idioma o por discapacidad deben ponerse en contacto con la Oficina de Derechos Civiles al 602.712.8946 o en civilrightsoffice@azdot.gov. Las solicitudes deben hacerse lo más pronto posible para asegurar que el equipo encargado del proyecto tenga la oportunidad de hacer los arreglos necesarios.